Author Topic: Re: Control Pad issues on the Turbo Express.  (Read 421 times)

red_tuscani

Re: Control Pad issues on the Turbo Express.
« on: May 15, 2011, 01:31:01 AM »
Hi guys, I am a newbie to this forum and it's great to know that there are still so many avid supporters of the good old PC engine consoles. I owned a Turbo Express and are having problems with the D-pad and control buttons. Is there anyone out there who knows how to get these problems resolved? I am not a technical guy so I would appreciate if anyone of you guys can help me to resolve these problems for a nominal fee. Thanks in advance.

Keith Courage

« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2011, 06:48:43 AM »
Does the Dpad feel like it is sticking when you push it down or does it just not work sometimes? If it is sicking then you need a new rubber pad for underneath it. Same as any turbo grafx or PC engine controller. If it sometimes doesn't work then you should clean the contacts on the board with rubbing alcohol and q-tip or scrape the board contacts slightly with a flat screw driver to get the dirt off.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2011, 08:55:37 AM by Keith Courage »

PunkicCyborg

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2011, 10:54:21 AM »
I had a problem with an avenue 6 pad not making contact and I thought it was fubared until I opened it up to reveal 15+ years of nastiness. I cleaned it out, cleaned the contacts and tightened the screws on the controller and it works great now.
(19:28:25) GE0: superdead told me in whisper that his favorite game is mario paint

red_tuscani

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2011, 01:59:21 PM »
Thanks for the advice. I opened up the console today and found that the rubber pad was damaged (broken into pieces probably due to wear and tear). Does anyone knows where I can purchased a new rubber pad and are there any advice on the issues which I am facing on the 'A' and 'B' control buttons? I already tried cleaning up the contacts but it is still not working.

PunkicCyborg