Author Topic: PC Engine Duo laser locking up to the right  (Read 305 times)

HoocasLenkels

PC Engine Duo laser locking up to the right
« on: October 20, 2014, 05:15:38 PM »
Hello all

I've recently run into a problem with my Duo. Keith Courage repaired it months ago, and everything works fine (Thanks again!) That is, until I started playing more CD games with it.

Before, I only had a few CD games, and didn't use it all that much. Now that I started getting more CD games, the laser assembly will jam or lock up all the way on the right side, forcing me to open up the console and reset it by hand. It's getting incredibly frustrating at this point. It will only do that on certain games though.

Keep in mind, this unit has been recapped, and showed no issues, as far as I could tell, beforehand. I tried cleaning and greasing the spokes of the gears, but still the same issue. Lens is also very clean.

The games it locks up on are:

4-in-1 Gate of Thunder
Dynastic Hero
Hellfire S (locks up after beating the first level, WTF?)
Terraforming
Super Air Zonk

Those are the only ones, so far, that made it lock up. It won't even read the disks, the screen goes black, and then the cd stops spinning and when I open it up, the laser is locked in place on the far right side.

What could be causing this? Is the laser dying? Do I need to tune the trimmer caps? Why is it only happening on some games? I can play through Lords of Thunder or Prince of Persia no problem, but if I even put super Air Zonk in, NOPE.

Any and all help is appreciated. Thank you all in advance. :evil:
« Last Edit: October 20, 2014, 05:17:21 PM by HoocasLenkels »

thesteve

Re: PC Engine Duo laser locking up to the right
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2014, 05:42:13 PM »
its caused by a seek error
can be a bad burn or scratched disk most often
could be adjustment as well, but would effect more games

HoocasLenkels

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2014, 05:52:45 PM »
I have the system sitting open in front of me now.