Author Topic: Turbo Duo - Hu Card games freeze after about 3 minutes  (Read 237 times)

DonAtreides

Turbo Duo - Hu Card games freeze after about 3 minutes
« on: April 29, 2015, 02:06:56 PM »
Hello all! I recently picked up a Turbo Duo and I'm a total newbie in the TG-16 world. The CD-ROM works great amazingly enough, but the Hu Card reader is very finicky and, when I get it to work, it will only work for about 3-10 minutes before it freezes up. I haven't had the problem with CD games, though I haven't played them for extended periods yet.

Any advice?

Thanks,
-D

Keith Courage

Re: Turbo Duo - Hu Card games freeze after about 3 minutes
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2015, 06:13:24 PM »
Might need the card slot cleaned. Try pulling said card out slightly from the system and give it a good play. If the game doesn't freeze then clean the contacts of the card with rubbing alcohol. This in turn should clean out the hu card slot as well.

thesteve

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2015, 07:13:47 PM »
to add to that, it could be a bad card

DonAtreides

« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2015, 09:36:22 AM »
Oh yeah, sorry. I forgot to mention: It happens with all cards and I put a coffee filter on a card with a little rubbing alcohol and tried to clean it that way. I think it helped, but it seems odd that it would work then not work if it's just dirty contacts. I don't know, maybe that would cause it.

I don't have a bit to open the TG-16, but if I get one, is it easier to clean the pins from there?

thesteve

« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2015, 10:21:04 AM »
all the chips in the system are used during CD play, but a few traces may not be
you could be looking at an open address pin on the slot

Keith Courage

« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2015, 12:33:17 PM »
The pins are not any easier to clean from the inside. Like thesteve said there could be a cracked solder joint on one of the hu card pins or possibly a bad trace.