Author Topic: Squealy Duo CD Drive...  (Read 395 times)

SavagePencil

Squealy Duo CD Drive...
« on: June 30, 2016, 05:27:48 AM »
The CD drive in my Duo has become a bit squealy since I started playing again recently.  The squeal only occurs when the drive is in motion, and it's now getting loud enough that it's driving my wife crazy.

Is this a pot adjustment, a call for some lubricant, or something else?

SignOfZeta

Re: Squealy Duo CD Drive...
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2016, 05:48:03 AM »
My first Turbo Duo did that. Maybe it's not the same exact noise but it sounds like that. It also had minor loading issues.

I took it back to EB and exchanged it for another unit. I imagine that option doesn't exist anymore... :(

SavagePencil

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2016, 06:08:59 AM »
No problems loading (much better than my original Duo, which would do the TICK-TICK-TICK thing about 30% of the time and then fail to load).

Maybe I'll phone up my local EB...

wilykat

« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2016, 10:15:23 AM »
Does it only squeal with certain disc like a Justin Bieber song? You probably got teenaged girl hiding inside the Duo  :mrgreen:

Does the spindle turn freely? It could be rubbing against the side of something? Or maybe the spindle motor is about to go out?

SavagePencil

« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2016, 10:37:21 AM »
Does it only squeal with certain disc like a Justin Bieber song? You probably got teenaged girl hiding inside the Duo  :mrgreen:

Does the spindle turn freely? It could be rubbing against the side of something? Or maybe the spindle motor is about to go out?

It's all discs.  The spindle appears to turn freely (not feeling it hang on anything), but that's what got me thinking this could be a case of friction, maybe requiring more of the grease.  It doesn't appear to do it more or less when the laser has to travel a long distance, so that's what I'm trying to isolate.

SignOfZeta

« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2016, 01:11:33 PM »