Author Topic: PC Engine CD noob needs help  (Read 357 times)

jcmeadows

PC Engine CD noob needs help
« on: August 24, 2016, 01:47:11 PM »
Hey guys, Im new to the PC/T-16 and I had a question. I bought a Core system and the CDROM 2 with IFU over the weekend. I bout the CD unit knowing that it didnt always play CD's. I figured it was the gears or it need a real good cleaning but after getting it today and playing with it the CD will not spin unless I am holding the entire unit vertical. I tried setting it on the back end so the controller port would be on top but it wont spin. Im guessing the motor that spins the CD is bad. But why would it work setting it up like that? Maybe putting enough presser on the motor? I remember the original playstation 1 I had I had to put the system upside down to get it to work at times.

The gears are fine, everything is greased very well so I know that not the problem. How much trouble is it to swap out the motor that spins the CD or is it a full laser swap?

Thanks for the help in advance.

Keith Courage

Re: PC Engine CD noob needs help
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2016, 04:15:06 PM »
I have rarely ever seen one of these suffer from having a bad motor. Most likely the lens is going bad or the lens needs some adjustment.

Vimtoman

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2016, 11:51:10 PM »
Clean all the gears and transport shafts and re lubricate with a silicone grease.

Take a picture of your CDRoms potentiometers then use my setup as shown in the CD-ROMĀ² calibration thread.
See if it makes a difference.

You would benefit from doing a recap.

Then I guess a Laser change.

jcmeadows

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2016, 02:12:28 AM »