Author Topic: PC Duo no video, multicolored screen, several problems?  (Read 301 times)

NichlasEk

PC Duo no video, multicolored screen, several problems?
« on: April 15, 2017, 10:58:31 PM »
Hi!

Got a cheap duo from yahoo japan. Its in a sorry state.
There where missing caps all over the board. I replaced them and got nothing but a light color of a different kind each time i powered on. So away i went with the multimeter but to no avail. I took a known working 6280 from a pc engine and tried that. Same syptom. swapped out the 6270, same thing. Swapped both ram chips next to the 6270. No luck.

My guess is a broken trace or two, but where to look?
I have started with the logic probe but im not a pro with it.

The 6280 had a realy faded logo as if it was exposed to a lot of heat some time. Some of the pads for it was already damaged. So i guess this could be the culprit. but i get continuity on all traces i have messured.

THe HuCard slot is bent, looks like someone has gone wild on it with a soldering iron. Cards still fits tho (and no shorts). The components under the HuCslot has been messed with. One resistor is soldered upside down, why?

I also tried removing IC520, but no luck.

Thoughts?

/Nichlas

Keith Courage

Re: PC Duo no video, multicolored screen, several problems?
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2017, 09:40:46 AM »
are both 7805 voltage regulators in working condition?

NichlasEk

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2017, 02:53:00 AM »
Should have checked that. Now ihave... and there fine. Ruffley 5v on each.
Thanks tho could have been it. Gonna look for small shorts when i have a moment to sit.

thesteve

« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2017, 09:49:08 AM »
multi color like that is almost always a missing connection to the card or a short between pins

NichlasEk

« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2017, 09:59:18 AM »