Author Topic: Problems with (used) XRGB-2+  (Read 186 times)

SignOfZeta

Problems with (used) XRGB-2+
« on: February 16, 2011, 11:14:01 AM »
Not sure where to post this, but I thought maybe someone could help....

Good News! The XRGB2+ arrived today!

Bad News! It doesn't work!

I have no experience with these units, but I'm pretty sure something is wrong with it. I get no onscreen menus of any kind. The monitor doesn't sync (goes into standby) no sound.

I have no idea what the unit is doing internally, but I get no picture out of it on either my 17" monitor or my 27" TV (which has VGA input). I also get no sound (so my monitors are not the problem). For testing purposes I'm using a Saturn connected via composite and RGB. Before you ask, the first thing I did was make sure my RGB complied to the Japan standard, so no I didn't melt anything. :)

When I first plugged it in the unit would instantly turn on (both "Power" and "31kHz" lights are lit). The power button did nothing. Then I found the "reset" procedure online and did that ("when the unit is off, hold the left (←) and right (→) arrow buttons on the unit (not remote) and press the power button"). After doing this the unit is in Standby when you plug it in. Once you turn it on it stays on. This is what the seller said it did for him too (although according to him it worked once powered up). A split second after the "Power" light comes on the 31kHz light comes on (even with no source plugged in). I tried forcing it to boot in 47kHz mode btw, no change.

I opened up the unit (looks perfect) and saw several relays in there. I assume that when you switch inputs on a working unit it probably "clicks". Is this the case? I get no clicking noise. I get a "click" when I turn it on, but that's it. I also checked that the Power button wasn't stuck, it isn't. The Power switch works normally when checked with a meter. Everything looks good inside, physically.