Author Topic: BANKS problem with huc  (Read 441 times)

touko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
BANKS problem with huc
« on: February 16, 2012, 09:48:03 PM »
Hi all, i have a big problem with huc ..

I'am not able to make a game larger than 192 ko ..

 ](*,)
HEEEEEEEEEEEEELP !!!

ÉDIT: fixed
« Last Edit: February 17, 2012, 11:17:24 PM by touko »

touko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
Re: BANKS problem with huc
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2012, 05:36:26 AM »
Not fixed , if someone have an explanation or a solution .
« Last Edit: February 19, 2012, 03:04:26 AM by touko »

nodtveidt

  • Guest
Re: BANKS problem with huc
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2012, 07:30:43 AM »
If you're talking about for the first overlay, then that's for a very good reason... it can only BE 192KB because it has the 64KB regular CDROM subprogram as part of it (error program). That's why for the first overlay, I make it as a "bootstrap", so to speak... usually just to show a logo or something, and THEN load a normal overlay which can be 256KB.

nodtveidt

  • Guest
Re: BANKS problem with huc
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2012, 07:33:54 AM »
Here's the overlay 1 code for Jungle Bros, for example:

Code: [Select]
#include "huc.h"

main()
{
  set_font_pal(0);
  set_font_color(1,0);
  load_default_font();

  put_string("PRODUCED BY OR",9,10);
  put_string("UNDER LICENSE FROM",7,13);
  put_string("FROZEN  UTOPIA",9,16);
  ad_reset();
  ad_trans(2, 0x0, 4, 0x0);
  cd_execoverlay(3);
}

It displays a Genesis-like startup screen, loads the custom ADPCM data bank from overlay 2, then does a cd-execoverlay() with the third overlay, which is another program.

touko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
Re: BANKS problem with huc
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2012, 02:59:51 AM »
Thanks Man ,For explanation ..   :dance:
I ll test That..
« Last Edit: February 19, 2012, 03:06:34 AM by touko »

nodtveidt

  • Guest
Re: BANKS problem with huc
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2012, 05:15:01 PM »
I ran into the problem when expanding msong.c, which was originally the first overlay of MSR... it's got the title program, which at the time included a debug menu and some fancy option stuff. I don't remember how it got so large, but when it did, that's when it ran into the 192KB issue.

touko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
Re: BANKS problem with huc
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2012, 05:48:17 AM »
Msr has not only bad sides ..  :wink:

But your solution word fine, tanks a lot man .
This issue needs to be documented on your new huc version.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 05:49:50 AM by touko »

nodtveidt

  • Guest
Re: BANKS problem with huc
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2012, 06:15:24 AM »
I'm going to make note of it on obeybrew's docs. :)

touko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
Re: BANKS problem with huc
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2012, 09:43:41 PM »
Yes would be cool .
If you can add more tips for begginers too .

nodtveidt

  • Guest
Re: BANKS problem with huc
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2012, 04:01:35 AM »
I'll try. :)