Author Topic: Magic The Gathering: The trading card game  (Read 3745 times)

munchiaz

Magic The Gathering: The trading card game
« on: December 15, 2013, 02:50:33 PM »
Any of you guys playing magic? I've been playing off and on since 1998. I stopped around 2005 with betrayers of kamigawa and said i wouldn't get back into it, but here i am again, and now i am back into the game. I just picked it back up with Theros, and I'm having a great time so far. I do have a standard deck (some proxy cards) but what i really enjoy is drafting.

I feel that drafting is the best form of playing magic. It gets rid of the people who are willing to drop tons of money on cards to make the best deck being played. Its so strategic, much more so than standard or limited. You have to make sure you cut the right color, that the other 7 at the table aren't cutting, you also have to take risk. Like taking a good card thats a different color, so you may not have to deal with it later.

So what do you guys enjoy about magic. Share here. 

hoobs88

Re: Magic The Gathering: The trading card game
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2013, 03:34:28 PM »
I've been playing Magic since 93. My favorite format is Sealed. I enjoy brewing new decks for Standard too. Especially with underdog cards that noone plays with. I recently won 1st place at an Invitational Qualifier with a Master of Cruelties deck.
1 title needed for a complete US Turbo Grafx collection: Magical Chase

Parasol Stars High Score = 119,783,770
http://www.pcenginefx.com/forums/index.php?topic=9292.0

League of Legends Summoner Name = DeviousSideburns

Arkhan

• Fuck Elmer.
    • Incessant Negativity Software
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2013, 04:08:48 PM »
I play, but don't really keep up with the current shit because the sets are all kind of lame.  I just go cherry pick cards from the latest sets for my decks.

Standard sucks to me because it usually involves cards that I don't really like.

Mirage is my favorite era in Magic.