Author Topic: Problem with my TG16 CD  (Read 872 times)

poizon74

Problem with my TG16 CD
« on: June 09, 2006, 12:25:24 PM »
Hi, I just found this forum and have recently became a very proud owner of a TG16 + CD system that I purchased off of ebay.  

The card system works great, and the CD system loads right up.  Lights on the CD player light up, but whever I try to play a CD the disc will not spin.  

When attached to the TG16 the CD unit lights up with "PC" on the display but again the disc doesnt spin.  When it take out the CD unit and try to play an audio CD the display reads "0" and the disc will not spin.

I have noticed when I first plug in the CD unit if there's a disc inside it moves slightly like it's trying to spin, but never does.

I've been all around looking at repair services and no one wants to touch the thing becasue it's so old.  I'm actually a physicist and have done a lot of circuity and electronics work.  I opened up the drive and looked around, cleaned it with circuit cleaner, but still no disc motion.  I assume there must be some mechanical problem.  

If anyone has any suggestions or have had a similar problem and found a solution I'd love to hear about it.  I'm totaly comfortable with opening and operating on the CD drive, I just don't know what to look for or what to do.

Any help would be really appriciated.

Thanks!

Dark Fact

Problem with my TG16 CD
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2006, 05:26:48 PM »
You could turn your Turbo CD system upside down and give that a shot.  That maneuver did work for one of my friends' playstation when he couldn't get any of his disc to spin.

If that doesn't work, you should check the connection to the spinning motor.

Sorry, but I don't see your library card on the books of Ys.  Now, RETURN THEM TO ME!!!

poizon74

Problem with my TG16 CD
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2006, 06:06:01 PM »
i actually have tried that, and still nothing.  has anyone else had this problem?

Thanks

nnap

Problem with my TG16 CD